Thursday, May 8, 2014

Starting a New Chapter in Life

I recently took a total leap of faith and resigned from my job to stay home with my son.  It's something I had always wanted to do since my daughter was born.  When my children were infants I didn't really have a choice, I had to have someone else help me to care for them, and in order to pay that person I worked part-time. But now I am able to care for Scott on my own.

I am learning how to be a home-maker/stay-at-home mom.  I'm not a cook or a crafty mom, but we have a good time.  We spend our days playing, listening to worship music, eating, napping, doing chores, reading books, etc.   We keep busy and I am loving it.

Besides going to pick up Kiana every day from pre-school, we don't get out much, which so far hasn't bothered me.   I'm a homebody. We've had friends over for playdates or we go over to friend's for playdates. I just need their assistance in getting Scott out of the car and into their house. I am considering joining a mom's group at church and asking for assistance in getting Scott out of the car and into the building.  Kiana and I get out more on our own, once my husband gets home, to the store or to run errands.  She’s so wonderful to shop with and helpful.  I will park next to the cart return and she will get out, get me a cart, and pull it right up to my door so I can hold onto it.  She also puts the cart away for me.  She helps get items off the shelf, and unloads the cart.  She loves going to the store with just mommy.  Once Scott is older, and can follow directions better, him and I will be able to get out more.  He's already learning to be a helper like his sister. 

I am so thankful and amazed at how things are working out, and blessed to be able to be home with my children during these early years. 

Knee Pads

I was happy to get new knee pads yesterday.  Knee pads are part of my daily wardrobe at home because I do so much on my knees.  Playing with Scott, picking him up, carrying him short distances, cleaning up the floor after his meals, changing diapers, lifting him into his seat on the walker or into the stroller, etc. is all done on my knees.   It's important for me to take care of my knees.